VGI Updates

General Galarza, Departamento Gualeguay, Entre Ríos Province

The town of General Galarza was founded on 5 October 1912. It was named after army soldier of Francisco Ramirez and J.J. de Urquiza.

Several Volga German families later settled in General Galarza.

General Ramírez, Departamento Diamente, Entre Ríos Province

The Central Railway came through this area, and a station was opened there on 16 May 1887. It was called Station Ramírez in honor of the family upon whose land the station was constructed. On 17 March 1888, the plat for Colonia del Pueblo General Ramírez was laid out.

Gilbert, Departamento Gualeguaychú, Entre Ríos Province

The village of Gilbert was founded in 1890. The town was named after the railroad station around which it was built. Gilbert was part of the Jewish settlement of Lucienville, which also included nearby Basavilbaso to the north.

Irazusta, Departamento Gualeguaychú, Entre Ríos Province

The village of Irazusta was named after one of its first settlers, Juan José Irazusta. The railroad came through the area in 1909, but it was not until 18 October 1911 that a station was opened in Irazusta, at that time called Villa Eleonora.

Many Volga German families settled here.

Jacobi, Departamento Diamante, Entre Ríos Province

Jacobi was founded by Protestant families in 1891/93. The colony took the name of many of the families who resettled there from Aldea Protestante.

La Esperanza, Departamento Nogoyá, Entre Ríos Province

Colonia La Esperanza was founded in 1900 by Otto Rakow who came from La Esperanza in Santa Fe Province and was the first agricultural colony founded in Argentina. In 1888, several Volga German families settled south of La Esperanza and north of La Llave. They had arrived 10 years earlier in Brazil. Many were related to each other.