VGI Updates

La Esperanza, Departamento Nogoyá, Entre Ríos Province

Colonia La Esperanza was founded in 1900 by Otto Rakow who came from La Esperanza in Santa Fe Province and was the first agricultural colony founded in Argentina. In 1888, several Volga German families settled south of La Esperanza and north of La Llave. They had arrived 10 years earlier in Brazil. Many were related to each other.

La Llave, Departamento Nogoyá, Entre Ríos Province

On 14 January 1899 the colony of La Llave was officially founded by a decree issued by Governor Maciá. However, Volga German families who had first settled in Brazil had already been living there for ten years. There were also some Italians in the colony.

La Marta, Departamento Federal, Entre Ríos Province

Volga Germans settled in Colonia La Marta, approximately 15 kilometers from Federal City between the creeks of Federal Chico, Chircal, Ponciano, and Maturrango. A total of 1,923 hectars was assigned to Volga German settlers from Crespo and Diamante.

Los Charrúas, Departamento Concordia, Entre Ríos Province

Los Charrúas was founded with the establishment of the railway station there in the 1930s. Its layout was approved by a provincial resolution on 23 October 1941, and that is considered the official date of the village's founding.

Lucas González, Departamento Nogoyá, Entre Ríos Province

Lucas Gonzélez was founded on 20 August 1888. The town is named in honor of Lucas González who served as Minister of Finance during the administrations of Bartolomé Mitre and Nicolás Avellaneda.       

Many families from the Volga German communities in Entre Ríos moved to Lucas González over the years. Pastor Jakob Riffel, historian of the Volga Germans in Argentina, served the Lutheran parish here for many years.