VGI Updates

Pastor Britos, Departamento Gualeguaychú, Entre Ríos Province

Pastor Britos is a rural settlement in northern Gualeguaychú Department located about 45 kilometers northwest of the city of Gualeguaychú. It grew up around a trainstation that is no longer operating.

Protestante, Departamento Diamante, Entre Ríos Province

The village of Protestante in the Province of Entre Rios was founded on 21 July 1878 on the banks of the Arroyo Ensenada, about 3 kilometers west of its current location. Because of flooding, it was moved to its current location along the banks of the Arroyo Perdices (Partridge Creek) in October of that year.

Santa Anita, Departamento Urugúay, Entre Ríos Province

Santa Anita was founded in 1900 by poor families from Salto, Spatzenkutter, Brasilera, Valle Maria, and San Francisco under leadership of Father Becker.

In the 1920s, people from Santa Anita relocated to Colonía Carrasco (near Bovril) in Departamento LaPaz. As of 1928, there were 208 families living in Santa Anita.

In the 1930s, people from Santa Anita relocated to an area near Iguazú in Misiones Province.

Santa Celia, Departamento Gualeguaychú, Entre Ríos Province

In January of 1887, nineteen families from Huck immigrated to the region of Pehuajó Norte, in the southern part of Entre Ríos Province. The immigrants from Huck traveled through Saratov to Germany where they boarded a ship that took 28 days to reach Buenos Aires.

After three days in Buenos Aires they traveled again by boat to Diamante where they arrived at Aldea Protestante (Protestant Village). In this village, a former neighbor from Huck by the name of Herdt was living.

Salto, Diamente Departamento, Entre Ríos Province

Assigned to Farm No. 78 along Salt Creek (Arroyo Salto), Santa Cruz was founded in 21 July 1878 along with Valle Maria, Spatzenkutter, General Alvear, and Protestante. There were originally 154 settlers organized into 28 households in Santa Cruz. Today the village is known as Salto, after the creek.

Santa María, Departamento Paraná, Entre Ríos Province

On 24 June 1887, a group of Volga German immigrants from the Samara Province on the Lower Volga along with families established in Diamante locality, founded the village of Santa María in the Paraná Departamento of Entre Ríos Province.      

The following men (and their families) were founders: